A Delicate Situation

August 4, 2009

I may have fucked up tonight. A woman bought two Ring Pops in addition to her meal (we have a huge array of candy at the register). When I turned to run her credit card, out of the corner of my eye I saw her put what looked like another Ring Pop into her purse.

I couldn’t tell if it was indeed an unpaid-for third or the wrapper. “Excuse me,” I said in the nicest tone I could muster. “Is that the wrapper?”

“What? Yes, of course it is.” She seemed understandably annoyed, so I made sure to apologize and thanked her for coming in.

About five minutes later, we got a phone call. It was Ring Pop lady, pissed for a number of reasons–she thought she was overcharged (she was undercharged), she didn’t get her coleslaw (why didn’t she bring this up before?), but most of all, she was very upset that she had been accused of stealing.

What? I didn’t accuse her, at least not directly. I was as nice as possible about it. Still, I probably could have worded the question differently. My manager suggested, “Would you like me to throw that away for you?” Why didn’t I think of that!?

Surprisingly, I very rarely have to deal with situations involving potential theft, so I really didn’t know what to do in this one. If anyone has any other suggestions on how to deal with such a delicate situation, I would greatly appreciate the advice.

In lighter news, a UPS guy walked up to the register to pay his bill. Completely straight-faced, he asked, “Do you guys accept cash?” No, we just have this cash register for show. We actually only accept travelers cheques.

7:30 AM shift tomorrow, wooooooooooooo going to bed at 10:00 PM.

7 Responses to “A Delicate Situation”


  1. Don’t worry about the ring pop lady. You can’t win them all.
    http://www.hotelsalessuperstar.com/


  2. I screwed-up too and added another site’s link to my comment. Really not meant to do it, sorry.

  3. PurpleGirl Says:

    It’s tricky when you have those situations. We had to deal with them at my retail jobs all the time. I don’t blame you for not knowing what to say, especially if they didn’t train you on that stuff.

  4. boschka Says:

    PG..

    That’s a tricky bit , you did the best that you could with the ring pop lady.

    The UPS guy..oh honey,that’s my husband in a nut shell….he’s always doing that shit..and after 22 years..I just roll my eyes and mutter …

    LOL

  5. boschka Says:

    oops…I linked over here from PG…sorry…

    Eternal, I do apologise for the what the hell is Boschka saying..the comment was for you specifically..I need coffee…oopsie

  6. AK Says:

    Ditto on dealing with it in retail… always super awkward. It’s a bit less obvious in retail though, because you can simply offer your help when you think someone’s stealing (“Are you finding everything all right?”) so you’re not creepily eyeing them. Glad the owner thought you did the right thing though!

Leave a Reply

