Restaurant Dramarama: Epilogue

August 4, 2009

So here’s what I think happened:

At The Restaurant, our clientele is largely made up of old people. The elderly are notoriously bad tippers, thus why Sister B only received $2 on a $30 check. When Sister B is stiffed or receives a bad tip, she tends not to accept it. After all, she’s such a fantastic waitress that no one would ever dream of leaving her less than 20%. And never mind that she often reads Us Weekly instead of getting her customers refills.

As for Sister C, I’m not entirely sure what happened. I am leaning towards the idea that Hipster either was mixing up tips or had simply not given them out yet. I do know, however, that after her shift, Sister C was still complaining that she hadn’t gotten her money.

Fortunately for me, that isn’t true. When I called for my schedule yesterday morning, Owner informed me that the register came out even and no one owed or was owed any money. At the very least, if Sisters B or C decide to get in my face about this shit again, I’ll have that little nugget to share. In short, the waitresses felt they weren’t making enough money, and instead of accepting the blame, they attempted to point the finger at the carryout girls. Sisters B and C are usually pretty good at intimidating everyone, including me, so they may hate me forever for actually standing up to them for once. And being right.

Additionally, I seem to have been rewarded for my instincts being correct, as Owner gave me five shifts this week instead of three. Granted, one of them is tomorrow at 7:30 AM, so that one might be punishment for losing my temper.

As for Hipster, she’s incompetent, and I mean that in the nicest way. I just feel like she might be better off out of the foodservice industry altogether. She’s laid back enough for it, but she freezes under pressure and she can’t seem to get organized. I have no desire to work with her anymore, as I don’t like playing babysitter to someone who just doesn’t get it.

I apologize that this story wasn’t especially funny–just frustrating, really. Hopefully over the next five days I’ll encounter some stupid people to write about.

3 Responses to “Restaurant Dramarama: Epilogue”

  1. AK Says:

    Yuck, sorry you have to put up with that. I’ve been bullied before by a few waitresses on a power trip in different jobs, and taking the blame/butting heads over and over again is useless stress. Good for you for sticking up for yourself.

  2. PurpleGirl Says:

    I’ve worked with a lot of pushy, bitchy women like Sisters B&C. They have no power in their personal lives, and so they feel they need to lord their “status” over you. If they hate you for standing up to them, don’t respond to their attitudes with anything but politeness or they’ll just think they can shove you over.

    • eternalcarryoutgirl Says:

      Considering there’s like 11 kids in the Sisters’ family, it’s really no surprise that they’re so domineering. But Sister A and Brother (haven’t talked about him; he’s a busboy) are much more laid back. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

